Other Representations of Dublin

-This video published by the New York Times does a very good job highlighting the best and various tourist aspects of Dublin. I want to kind of set up my presentation like this, but do it in a more linear order of traveling on a bus or group tour than through distinct categories. Instead of these restaurants, I will post menus of the ones closest to the best tourist destinations (KC Peaches by Trinity, Brazen Head by the Guinness Factory, Bernard Shaw in Rathmines and the Quay’s in Temple Bar.) While this video is cool, I can definitely offer my own views and cater to certain needs – if a family comes, I can recommend family friendly restaurants that I went to when my family came to visit for Thanksgiving. If study abroad Americans come for the weekend, I can recommend the best bars, pubs and clubs. The purpose of my project is to also highlight how tourism (the individuals I am trying to reach) has shaped and effected Ireland, so I need to recall the history of these spots and why they have become such popular tourist destinations.

screen-shot-2017-02-28-at-10-34-57-pmDublin City in the 1610’s- Here is a map of Dublin City way back in the 1610’s. Clearly there were not Starbuck’s, Guinness Factories or Temple Bar, but this map would be super cool to include and contrast to a current map, as well as a map of Dublin right after The Troubles to show how the city has changed and industrialized over time.

screen-shot-2017-02-28-at-10-50-53-pm

http://www.ireland.com/en-us/ireland-stories/people-and-culture/articles/utwo-dublin/

U2 is probably the most popular band to come out of Dublin, and many locals seem to either hate Bono or love him. This representation is really well done and may be how I choose to structure my project, if I do a Google map. It is also interesting that two tributes to U2 are in Temple Bar, where many tourists choose to go. These spots should be included in my project, or at least mention of U2, because a lot of tourists go to Killeny in search of Bono’s house and probably bring in music fans from all over, who will stop at these destinations.

http://www.independent.ie/life/travel/ireland/death-of-dublin-10-ways-to-save-the-city-as-a-tourist-destination-34904743.html

-This article lies at the heart of my project and shows the tension between Dubliners and tourists. According to this article, tourists have raised prices dramatically, has caused nightlife to be messy and dangerous, andĀ lacks the plazas and piazzas of many European cities. As this article states, Irish food is very good, so I can focus on restaurants more than bars. Also, this article points out something very interesting about the public transport system. Locals travel everywhere by bus or DART, but it is very hard for a visitor to figure out how to get a LEAP card or exact change, thus they resort to walking or taking a cab everywhere. For my project, then, I should stick to a walking tour of Dublin because most tourists will not be able to figure out the bus (from Temple Bar to the Guinness Factory on the other side of the city is probably a 40 minute walk.)

http://www.thehoya.com/24-hours-in-dublin/

-This recent article published by The Hoya explains Dublin as a “walkable and tourist-friendly city is a fascinating amalgamation of old and new, blending tradition with modernity”. The statement about St. Stephen’s Green is important, as you can walk through the park and trace it back to the 1916 Easter Uprising. What does walking through this park represent? How has the park changed over time, and what was it before it became a significant tourist attraction? This representation highlights a lot of attractions I want to discuss, but i plan on adding more cultural history and making my representation a lot more interactive.

https://prezi.com/j4ggty0w7fkr/map-of-miami/#

-Although this isn’t a representation of Dublin, Alex’s final project last year about Miami is very nicely set up and how I want to structure my presentation. She was able to use an interactive map and really walk the viewer through the presentation, highlighting important regions and areas of Miami and incorporating charts and graphs throughout. I want to set up my project like hers using the different tourist attractions, show before and after pictures, present background information and how much money this tourist attraction makes, then use other representations and the critiques I have found in other slides. Alex’s presentation is very well done but in order to do mine according to the importance of a walking path, it would need to be chronological and follow the exact path.

Leave a Reply

